The Gamma Pi Chapter of Kappa Alpha Psi was established at Alcorn State University on April 9, 1949. It was the first chapter established in the state of Mississippi as the crystallization of a Dream continued to spread rapidly from campus to campus, city to city, and country to country throughout the world.


Gamma Pi 1949 Charter Members

The charter members are John C. Berry, Sidney S. Boose, Charles Carter, Jonnie Gilmore, Osber Hicks, Charles E. H. Hunter, John H. Jefferson, Emridge Jones, Needham Jones, Roscoe S. Pickett, Claude H. Pinkney, Patrick H. Robinson, Edward Steele, Grover Ulmer, and Riley Williams.


To unite college men of culture, honor, and patriotism in a bond of fraternity

To encourage honorable achievement in every field of human endeavor

To promote the spiritual, social, intellectual, and moral welfare of its members

To assist the aims and purposes of colleges and universities

To inspire service in public interest